Can’t sleep.

Fun stuff:

  • I’ve been ‘approved’ (read conscripted) for overtime at Le Zarci.  Which means I get to work for 11+ hours straight.  Whee!
  • I’ve worked out a system of verb conjugation that (I think) naturally covers all necessary communications in Halo.  As playing FPSs only requires about five verbs (to kill, to get, to move, to take cover, and to locate), enforcing the paradigm is remarkably simple, and keeping the language very close to monosyllabic is also remarkably simple.  If only I had time to practice it with my lady.  At the very least, I can steal it for military applications in my speculative fiction.
  • Development on my Starfighter X 2D ES conversion has been going swimmingly, with the only hiccup being the closer at my day job quitting.  Leading to me being shifted to a closing shift.  And approved for overtime. Whee!  ES is precisely as wonderful as it promised to be.  It is not the silver bullet to all my development problems.  Only to about 65% of them.  The thorniest, nastiest 65%.  Praise God that silver bullets are real!
  • But toiling at my evening shift ’till the wee hours of the morning did give me brain-time to invent a system of verb conjugations that naturally covers all necessary communications in Halo.  (Specifically, the perfect, as in Latin and Greek, and a sort of present progressive that is used to indicate objectives (which, in turn, makes it the imperative in the second person)).
  • I uncovered a method of physics simulation that is both more accurate, and simpler to implement than the one I am already using.  The short form is that instead of maintaining velocity as a separate variable, it infers velocity from the difference between the current and former positions of the object (and I already track past and present positions for the purpose of collision detection, so this is literally a simplification of existing data rather than a complete rewrite).  I will probably wait until my next game to give it a go (though the change should be so painless thanks to ES, that I half suspect that if I throw my next lunch break at it, I can complete the conversion).  Advantages include:  at an arbitrary but fixed timestep it produces a motion curve that almost exactly matches the curve produced by the physics formulae one would use to describe the motion (whereas the curve produced by my current algorithm is only terribly accurate at a timestep that is infinitesimally small.)  It easily integrates collision detection, something that cannot be said of my current algorithm.  It easily integrates spring-systems, something that is an immense headache in my current algorithm.  All in all, I find it almost impossible not to code up a demo just to play with it.
  • Sony stock jumped almost nine percent during Microsoft’s XBox One unveiling.  Humorous as that is, there are other, better reasons for the jump.
  • Speaking of Sony, my panic over XNA and the XBox Indie market being phased out by Microsoft was for naught — XNA has been replicated by an independant group (and with Microsoft’s tacit blessing) in a form that compiles to bunches of other devices.  And Sony is courting the jilted indies, having waived the fee to become a developer for their mobile platform(!)  Once I’ve got a second game on XBLIG (possibly with the new physics), I am doing some major research into Sony development.

The coolest thing for last:

The Saxon is not like us Normans,
His manners are not so polite.
But he never means anything serious
Til he talks about justice and right.
When he stands like an ox in the furrow
With his sullen set eyes on your own,
And grumbles, “This isn’t fair dealings,”
My son, leave the Saxon alone.

You can horsewhip your Gascony archers,
Or torture your Picardy spears,
But don’t try that game on the Saxon;
You’ll have the whole brood round your ears.
From the richest old Thane in the county
To the poorest chained serf in the field,
They’ll be at you and on you like hornets,
And, if you are wise, you will yield.

Rudyard Kipling, or so I am led to believe.

 

Leave a Reply

